The Whole Story – Jesus, the Messiah (John)

The Gospel of John features 7 short stories that offer a sampling of the miracles Jesus performed during his time of public ministry. These were written so that his readers would come to “believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that by believing [they] may have life in his name” (John 20:31b).

John included these 7 stories within the context of a larger narrative. The following is a simplified outline of the entire Gospel of John.

Here is the plot of the whole story:

Jesus, the Messiah (John)

  1. Setting: 
    1. Israel.
  2. Conflict: 
    1. Jesus did good works and claimed to be equal with God, which upset the Jews. (5:18)
  3. Rising Action:
    1. John the Baptist gave testimony of who Jesus is. (1)
    2. Jesus Called Disciples (1)
    1. Jesus Did the Works of God Publicly (2-12)
    2. Jesus Taught the Words of God Publicly (3-12)
    3. Samaritans Believed in Jesus (4)
    4. The Jews Ploted to Kill Jesus (11-18)
    5. Jesus Prepared His Disciples for His Departure (13-17)
    6. Jesus was Arrested and Put on Trial (18)
  4. Climax
    1. Jesus was Crucified (19)
  5. Falling Action:
    1. Jesus Rose from the Dead (20)
    2. Jesus Showed Himself to His Disciples and the Women, Commissioning them (20-21)
    3. Jesus Restored Peter (21)
  6. Resolution:
    1. No resolution- Jesus is returning someday to give eternal life to all who have believed in Him. In the mean time, his followers have work to do.

1 Comment

  1. Interesting application of a plot pyramid to the Gospel of John. I see what you mean that there is no resolution, but on the other hand, I suppose you could argue that the resolution of the story is Jesus’ ascension into heaven.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s